United States Code

USC most recently checked for updates: Jun 27, 2022

§ 2204b–3.
Council on Rural Community Innovation and Economic Development
The purpose of this section is to enhance the efforts of the Federal Government to address the needs of rural areas in the United States by—
establishing a council to better coordinate Federal programs directed to rural communities;
maximizing the impact of Federal investment to promote economic prosperity and quality of life in rural communities in the United States; and
using innovation to resolve local and regional challenges faced by rural communities.
There is established a Council on Rural Community Innovation and Economic Development (referred to in this section as the “Council”).
The Council shall be the successor to the Interagency Task Force on Agriculture and Rural Prosperity established by Executive Order 13790.
In general
The membership of the Council shall be composed of the heads of the following executive branch departments, agencies, and offices:
The Department of Agriculture.
The Department of the Treasury.
The Department of Defense.
The Department of Justice.
The Department of the Interior.
The Department of Commerce.
The Department of Labor.
The Department of Health and Human Services.
The Department of Housing and Urban Development.
The Department of Transportation.
The Department of Energy.
The Department of Education.
The Department of Veterans Affairs.
The Department of Homeland Security.
The Environmental Protection Agency.
The Federal Communications Commission.
The Office of Management and Budget.
The Office of Science and Technology Policy.
The Office of National Drug Control Policy.
The Council of Economic Advisers.
The Domestic Policy Council.
The National Economic Council.
The Small Business Administration.
The Council on Environmental Quality.
The White House Office of Public Engagement.
The White House Office of Cabinet Affairs.
Such other executive branch departments, agencies, and offices as the President or the Secretary may, from time to time, designate.

The Secretary shall serve as the Chair of the Council.

A member of the Council may designate, to perform the Council functions of the member, a senior-level official who is—
part of the department, agency, or office of the member; and
a full-time officer or employee of the Federal Government.

The Council shall coordinate policy development through the rural development mission area.


The Secretary shall provide funding and administrative support for the Council to the extent permitted by law and within existing appropriations.

Mission and function of the Council
The Council shall work across executive departments, agencies, and offices to coordinate development of policy recommendations—
to maximize the impact of Federal investment on rural communities;
to promote economic prosperity and quality of life in rural communities; and
to use innovation to resolve local and regional challenges faced by rural communities.
The Council shall—
make recommendations to the President, acting through the Director of the Domestic Policy Council and the Director of the National Economic Council, on streamlining and leveraging Federal investments in rural areas, where appropriate, to increase the impact of Federal dollars and create economic opportunities to improve the quality of life in rural areas in the United States;
coordinate and increase the effectiveness of Federal engagement with rural stakeholders, including agricultural organizations, small businesses, education and training institutions, health-care providers, telecommunications services providers, electric service providers, transportation providers, research and land grant institutions, law enforcement, State, local, and tribal governments, and nongovernmental organizations regarding the needs of rural areas in the United States;
coordinate Federal efforts directed toward the growth and development of rural geographic regions that encompass both metropolitan and nonmetropolitan areas;
identify and facilitate rural economic opportunities associated with energy development, outdoor recreation, and other conservation related activities; and
identify common economic and social challenges faced by rural communities that could be served through—
better coordination of existing Federal and non-Federal resources; and
innovative solutions utilizing governmental and nongovernmental resources.
Executive departments and agencies
In general

The heads of executive departments and agencies shall assist and provide information to the Council, consistent with applicable law, as may be necessary to carry out the functions of the Council.


Each executive department or agency shall be responsible for paying any expenses of the executive department or agency for participating in the Council.

Council working groups
In general

The Council may establish, in addition to the working groups established under paragraph (3), such other working groups as necessary.


The Secretary shall include as members of each working group such Council members, other heads of Federal agencies (or their designees as defined in (d)(3) 1

 So in original. Probably should be “subsection (c)(3)”.
 ), and non-Federal partners as determined appropriate to the subject matter.

Required working groups
The working groups specified in this paragraph are each of the following:
The rural smart communities working group

The Council shall establish a Rural Smart Communities Working Group.

The Rural Smart Communities Working Group shall—
not later than 1 year after the establishment of such Working Group, submit to Congress a report describing efforts of rural areas to integrate smart technology into their communities to solve challenges relating to governance, economic development, quality of life, or other relevant rural issues, as determined by the Secretary; and
create, publish, and maintain a resource guide designed to assist States and other rural communities in developing and implementing rural smart community programs.
Smart community defined

For the purposes of this subparagraph, the term “smart community” means a community that has the ability to integrate multiple technological solutions, in a secure fashion, to manage a community’s assets, including local government information systems, schools, libraries, transportation systems, hospitals, power plants, law enforcement, and other community services with the goal of promoting quality of life through the use of technology in ways that improve the efficiency of services and meet residents’ needs.

Jobs accelerator working group

The Council shall establish a Jobs Accelerator Working Group.

The Jobs Accelerator Working Group shall support rural jobs accelerators (as defined in section 2008w(a)(4) of this title)—
to improve the ability of rural communities to create high-wage jobs, accelerate the formation of new businesses with high-growth potential, and strengthen regional economies, including by helping to build capacity in the applicable region to achieve those goals; and
to help rural communities identify and maximize local assets and connect to regional opportunities, networks, and industry clusters that demonstrate high growth potential.
The Jobs Accelerator Working Group shall—
provide the public with available information and technical assistance on Federal resources relevant to a project and region;
establish a Federal support team comprised of staff from participating agencies in the working group that shall provide coordinated and dedicated support services to rural jobs accelerators; and
provide opportunities for rural jobs accelerators to share best practices and further collaborate with one another.
(Pub. L. 115–334, title VI, § 6306, Dec. 20, 2018, 132 Stat. 4752.)
cite as: 7 USC 2204b-3