United States Code

USC most recently checked for updates: Apr 17, 2024

§ 6901.
In this chapter—
“entitlement land” means land owned by the United States Government—
that is in the National Park System or the National Forest System, including wilderness areas and lands described in section 2 of the Act of June 22, 1948 (16 U.S.C. 577d), and section 1 of the Act of June 22, 1956 (16 U.S.C. 577d–1);
the Secretary of the Interior administers through the Bureau of Land Management;
dedicated to the use of the Government for water resource development projects;
on which are located semi-active or inactive installations (except industrial installations) that the Secretary of the Army keeps for mobilization and for reserve component training;
that is a dredge disposal area under the jurisdiction of the Secretary of the Army;
that is located in the vicinity of Purgatory River Canyon and Pinon Canyon, Colorado, and acquired after December 23, 1981, by the United States Government to expand the Fort Carson military installation;
that is a reserve area (as defined in section 401(g)(3) of the Act of June 15, 1935 (16 U.S.C. 715s(g)(3))); or
acquired by the Secretary of the Interior or the Secretary of Agriculture under section 5 of the Southern Nevada Public Land Management Act of 1998 that is not otherwise described in subparagraphs (A) through (G).
“unit of general local government” means—
a county (or parish), township, borough, or city (other than in Alaska) where the city is independent of any other unit of general local government, that—
is within the class or classes of such political subdivision in a State that the Secretary of the Interior, in his discretion, determines to be the principal provider or providers of governmental services within the State; and
is a unit of general government, as determined by the Secretary of the Interior on the basis of the same principles as were used by the Secretary of Commerce on January 1, 1983, for general statistical purposes;
any area in Alaska that is within the boundaries of a census area used by the Secretary of Commerce in the decennial census, but that is not included within the boundary of a governmental entity described under clause (i);
the District of Columbia;
the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico;
Guam; and
the Virgin Islands.
the term “governmental services” includes, but is not limited to, those services that relate to public safety, the environment, housing, social services, transportation, and governmental administration.
(Pub. L. 97–258, Sept. 13, 1982, 96 Stat. 1031; Pub. L. 98–63, title I, July 30, 1983, 97 Stat. 323; Pub. L. 100–446, title I, Sept. 27, 1988, 102 Stat. 1775; Pub. L. 103–272, § 4(f)(3), July 5, 1994, 108 Stat. 1364; Pub. L. 104–333, div. I, title X, § 1033(a), Nov. 12, 1996, 110 Stat. 4239; Pub. L. 105–83, title III, § 350, Nov. 14, 1997, 111 Stat. 1607; Pub. L. 105–263, § 5(d), Oct. 19, 1998, 112 Stat. 2348.)
cite as: 31 USC 6901